let’s call it “the blues of loss”

my current apathy to writing blog entries
which I ascribe to the Journalspace blog loss

I know   I know
MOVE ON, suzie-Q
move on

blog postings and poetry
have been scarce as hen's teeth hereabouts
since the start of the new year

in part because I've been thinking PROSE
in my writerly moments

hopefully I'll come to my senses soon
and get back to poetry
since 
concluding from past experience
we all know     that I am not 
what you could call    a prose writer

still   I have this idea
worth exploring . . . 

and so I sit
(getting now to the other writing abeyance factor)
knitting   knitting
knitting away  more furiously than 
Madame LaFarge

it's like this:
I was thinking 
as I knit 
about
what, of a person, lasts
beyond her lifespan

and as I sat knitting away
I noted my feet propped on the ottoman
which was covered with a small coverlet 
my mother (dead now 13 years)
had knit   some 45 years ago or so . . .

my words will last
if my literary executors,
i.e., those who receive my hard drives)
keep backing them up  !!!!!!
and perhaps there will be some chapbooks
or even a full length collection of poems
before too long

but what I know lasts 
aside from those   are 
recipes and knitting

so I have decided to knit something
wondrous for each person I care about
and I'm also thinking of
knitting or weaving
(as I still have weaving to get around to doing)
a shroud for myself

a thing of great magnificence
to be put in the fire with this well used
body of mine when it ceases to be my home

and of course my shroud will be an elaborate  item
of great complexity and beauty
which will take FOREVER to knit (or weave)
and which   the burning of 
will elicit as much weeping 
as the end of me will elicit
but there's power in the 
ever being made and still incompleted
piecework . . .

just ask Penelope
just ask Arachne

making thread
and making from thread
are honored actions
from close to the beginning of  
we   the sapient species

I came into the world
at one  end of a chord
and I have been making my way
through the labyrinth of life
thread in hand
and no doubt
so it will go util
my thread is   snip   snippt
measured and     clipt
Leave a Reply

