today’s dream 03.01.09

today’s dream 03.01.09

someone stripped the rubber covering off
the front porch roof  (which was just laid there
this past summer  and I recently told the landlord
who’s away for two years that it LEAKS!)

I was living in an apartment building
my place  several rooms
a couple of stories up
many of the apartments emptied
  where’d everybody go?

returned from hallway
into mine
 and it. . . 

FELL OFF THE BUILDING!
naturally    I fell right along with it
and was buried in detritus ‘n debris
(which was, I noted dispassionately, rather rubbery and
spongy; not the timber and plaster  bricks
  and nails you’d expect)

all was pitch black
“I am buried alive.” I told myself
“I must create
   a wedge that will give me a sliver of
   light  and     space    a needle’s eye portal
   to  Outside.”
“And I will crawl through.”

so saying   fists clenched
and held close up to my cheeks
  the nock of my elbow    my forearm
pressing hard  into   my breasts

and then
with GREAT FORCE
  I inhaled and EXPANDED
my elbows began to lift
  wing like
and the detritus coccooning me
began to retreat
over and over I repeated this action
and eventually I had created
the eye of the needle of escape
and crawled out
 from under

people on the street were standing
gazing upward at where    my dwelling used to be

so I crawled out
and brushed off the dust
and went looking for
some explanation
and to see how much of my lair
was still intact

suddenly the apartment interior
was the interior of  here

and it was second floor rooms
 that had fallen
(still the outside was in more of a city
    setting)
and emily was living here
and her room had fallen
and she was here to see
 what was lost
both as herself as she is now
and also as an emily about 20 years older
and the now-em tok me into the kitchen
to show me  she had  rearranged the cabinets
 and appliance
and she was not at all upset
about her fallen room

more followed
 but I have forgotten
Leave a Reply

